Armanino Checklist
Checklist

Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Checklists

Sexual harassment prevention training requirements have changed. As an employer, you are required to meet these new training standards and demonstrate compliance. Armanino is here to help. Here’s what you need to know.


CALIFORNIA

The state of California now requires that all employers with five or more employees train all employees and supervisors within six months of their start date, then retrain every two years.

When: Initial compliance by January 1, 2021

What:

  • Supervisory employees must complete at least two hours of training.
  • Nonsupervisory employees must complete at least one hour of training.
  • New supervisory employees must be trained within six months of their promotion to supervisory positions.
  • Temporary and seasonal employees – or any employee hired to work less than six months – must also be trained within 30 calendar days after their hire date or within 100 hours worked, whichever comes first.

NEW YORK

The state of New York now requires that all employers train all employees, and then employees must receive training annually. New York City has additional requirements.

New York State

All New York employees, regardless of immigration status, must complete sexual harassment prevention training, and then receive training annually. Employees include part-time, temporary and seasonal workers.

When: Initial compliance by October 9, 2019

What: New employees should be trained as soon as possible after their start date.

New York City

NYC employers with 15 or more employees must comply with both the New York state laws and additional training requirements under the Stop Sexual Harassment in NYC Act.

When: Effective April 1, 2019, employers are required to train their employees annually.

What: Employers are encouraged to train new employees as soon as possible.
The training requirement applies to employees who work more than 80 hours in a calendar year and work for at least 90 days.


ILLINOIS

The state of Illinois now requires that all employers with one or more employees train all employees annually.

When: Initial compliance by January 1, 2020

What: The Workplace Transparency Act (SB1829) includes a requirement that employers provide sexual harassment prevention training to all employees on an annual basis. If an employer fails to comply, they will be issued a notice to show cause giving them 30 days to comply, with a failure to do so resulting in a civil penalty of $1,000 for a first offense, $3,000 for a second offense, and $5,000 for a third or any subsequent offense.



Download Checklist

September 30, 2019

Stay In Touch

Sign up to stay up-to-date with the latest accounting regulations, best practices, industry news and technology insights to run your business.

Resources
Related News & Insights
Achievable Route to Modern Financial Close BlackLine Webinar
Webinar
Financial close experts reveal strategies and technology that can help streamline your month-end close process.

August 17, 2021 | 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT
How Is The Great Resignation Affecting Operations
Webinar
Adapting your operations model to overcome The Great Resignation.

August 12, 2021 | 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT
Optimize High Tech Manufacturing Supply Chain Improved Operations Visibility
Webinar
Learn how high-tech companies can use D365 to improve forecasting, operational visibility and increase revenue.

August 11, 2021 | 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM PT